Update: Both Free and Premium users can attach any file type to a note.
Update: Premium users can also purchase up to 5GB of additional new upload allowance and up to 25 additional upload gigs in a year. [read the post]
Evernote Premium users have it pretty good. They get to put more stuff into Evernote each month, they can attach any type of file to their notes, their PDFs are searchable, and lots more. Today, Evernote Premium gets a major upgrade with the addition of two new features: note history and larger note sizes.
New Premium feature: Note History (aka Versioning (aka Peace of Mind))
Starting today, Evernote will begin taking a snapshot of your notes and all their contents. Several times each day Evernote will check to see if any notes have changed. If they have, it’ll make a new snapshot of those notes and add them to your Note History stored on our servers. And on and on like that. This means that you now have a running history of every note in your Premium account. There’s no limit to the number of snapshots for each note and old versions won’t count against your monthly new-note quota.
Accessing the Note History
You can access your Note History by logging into Evernote Web, clicking into a note, then clicking on the Note Attributes arrow. This will expose the attributes and a new link: View Note History. Keep in mind, even though your Note History is currently accessible from Evernote Web, it applies to notes created using any version of Evernote. We will be rolling this into the desktop and mobile versions in the near future.
What can I do with my Note History?
You have two options. First, you can view the previous versions of your note by clicking on them in the Note History list. Sometimes just looking at an old version (with some judicious use of cut and paste) is all you need. You can also export the note, which will produce an Evernote file that can be imported into either of the desktop versions of Evernote from their File > Import menu options.
Great for collaboration
Evernote Web lets you create Shared Notebooks. Premium users can allow others to view and edit notes within their shared notebooks. Now, as the owner of the Shared Notebook, you’ll have access to previous versions of the shared notes, giving you a better sense of how the note has changed and progressed.
A couple of things to keep in mind
- The Note History feature does not capture every single change you make to a note, only the version of your note that is available at the time that the system makes the snapshot.
- For efficiency and capacity reasons, the Note History feature stores the old versions of your note on our servers, not your local device. This means that you don’t have to worry about filling up your local storage with old versions, but you will need to have access to the Internet to recover an old version.
- If you delete the note and then empty your trash, the note, along with its history, will be permanently removed. Remember that emptying your trash doesn’t affect your quota in any way, so the only reason to do it is if you want to permanently remove the note and all of its previous history.
- Remember that any notes that you create in “local only” notebooks on our desktop Windows and Mac versions never leave your computer, so we won’t keep past versions of those. Also, If you move a note from a synchronized notebook to a local notebook, we will remove the note from our servers, along with any older versions.
New Premium feature: 50MB note limits!
Premium users can now throw more stuff into their notes. Single notes have been supersized from 25MB to 50MB, perfect for those large Powerpoints, Photoshop files, and more. Since we know you’re wondering, we are working on letting premium users upload more than 500 megabytes of new notes per month. Stay tuned.
We’re excited about these new, much-requested Premium features. More are on the way. As always, our focus is on making Evernote great for everyone. If these features push you to become a Premium user, great (and thanks). If you prefer to stay Free and take advantage of all that offers, don’t worry, we still love you.